Anyone who works in the IT field?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone who works in the IT field?

I need help guys, I need to interview someone who works in the IT field. Basically, I need information on what certifications does your employer require their employees or applicants to have. What the starting pay is and the demand in this field. Anybody's feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    "It does not matter how slowly you go, so long as you do not stop.."

Re: Anyone who works in the IT field?

I'm probably the last person you'd want to interview, even though I work in the IT sector.

I'm a Computer Technician for soon to be 2 companies. AFAIK, the 2nd company I got hired at, has techs with either certifications or degrees (I have a degree in Network Systems Administration - yeah, I know... ). Both are small companies, so I don't get paid much. And there is demand in the field, but its tough to get business when there's big box companies like Best Buy's Geek Squad or Circuit City's Firedog and well known establishments like SuperGeek and Cowabunga.
    How'd I get so white and nerdy?

Comment

Thanks for replying adrian! I wouldn't mind interviewing someone who works at a "smaller" company, as you describe it. I have some questions though, when you started looking for a job, do you have to take some tests during the application process? How do employers hire IT professionals? In your case as a technician, do you need to "fix" a system unit or something for them to know your capabilities.. (again, this was when you just finished your degree).

Comment

When is your assignment due?

I consider myself to be in the IT field. My employers only required some kind of Baccalaureate degree. The current demand in this area is VERY high, since I'm in education, and tech people can make a lot more money outside the classroom. Starting pay is in the area of 30,000 or in that neighborhood.