Do you look your age?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you look your age?

Were you able to buy cigarettes or alcohol before the legal age? Were you getting hit on buy older people when you were in high school? Are you mistaken for being your brother's dad? This thread would like to hear from you!

Oh, and me: I've been driving since the age of 12, but now I'm stopped by cops for truancy.
    Twitter: LookMaICanWrite

flickr

Re: Do you look your age?

Nope. Although I have the mental capacity (and attention span) of an adolescent, I actually look older than I am. Thanks to a textbook Scorpio demeanor, a prematurely receding hairline (or at least an enormous forehead courtesy my dad), and bad skin, I look 10 years older than I am.

Don't believe me? I was 19 when I met my wife in college, when she was 21. She thought I worked for the university. Even after learning I was a student, she figured I was a nontrad or grad student. She and her friends had come to the conclusion that I was in my late 20s, possibly 30. In short, she thought I wasn an older guy, which was her preferred prospect. Imagine her shock when I turned out to still be a teenager.

Still don't believe me? Strangers have asked her, despite our clear lack of genetic commonality, if I was her dad. Her dad!

Still don't believe me? People have frequently mistaken me for my mom's husband. That, frankly, is immensely depressing.

Now that I'm 33, I probably look 43 (and definitely have the waistline, though I'm actually working on losing weight). And I feel 53, since kids always make you feel old as it is, and because I frequently descend into fits of crankiness that would make a genuine geezer proud.

Comment

OH PZ!
      Puh-Leaze!