Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transplant to Indiana

Hi

My name is Kamalani. I was born in Hawaii on Oahu. I grew up on the Westside of the Island, Nanakuli to be exact. I graduated from Nanakuli in 1995. I moved to Indiana in 1999 to go to college and have been living here since. I have my BA in International Studies and am currently working in IT and a server administrator. Any questions, just ask.

Re: Transplant to Indiana

Aloha mo malo'e lelei Kamalani. Would you care to share any cultural adjustments you had to make when moving from Hawai'i to the heartland of the US, both initially and continuing? My ancestral roots are in Kansas, although I've never lived there, I have visited relatives there on occasion, and note significant cultural differences.

I note that you are quickly approaching the time equal to living outside of Hawai'i as living on the islands. How do you feel about that?

Good to have you here on HT.
    Peace, Love, and Local Grindz

People who form FIRM opinions with so little knowledge only pretend to be open-minded. They select their facts like food from a buffet. David R. Dow

Comment

Re: Transplant to Indiana

Originally posted by matapule View Post
      Aloha mo malo'e lelei Kamalani. Would you care to share any cultural adjustments you had to make when moving from Hawai'i to the heartland of the US, both initially and continuing? My ancestral roots are in Kansas, although I've never lived there, I have visited relatives there on occasion, and note significant cultural differences.

I note that you are quickly approaching the time equal to living outside of Hawai'i as living on the islands. How do you feel about that?

Good to have you here on HT.
      Hi